Winners of 2018 Prairies Startup Canada Awards announced

By Startup Canada Staff

On May 25th, more than 200 business owners, innovators, community builders, and family members gathered in Winnipeg to celebrate some of Canada’s top entrepreneurs at the Startup Canada Awards – Prairies Region.

The winners included North Forge Technology Exchange president Jeff Ryzner; Coconut Software Corporation founder Katherine Reigner; Anishinaabe Bimishimo Corporation founder Émilie McKinney; and Jobber co-founders Sam Pillar and Forrest Zeisler.

Ace Burpee Show host Ace Burpee emcee’d the ceremony, which featured welcoming remarks from government dignitaries including Logan, Manitoba Legislative Assembly (MLA) member Flor Marcelino; Southdale, Manitoba MLA Andrew Smith; assistant deputy minister of post secondary education and workforce development Colleen Kachulak; and NDP Manitoba leader Wab Kinew; and a keynote by Ogoki Learning Inc. president and CEO Darrick Baxter.

The ceremony was streamed on Facebook Live and Periscope. You can click here to see photos from the event, or watch a recorded stream below.

The full list of winners can be seen below.

Startup Canada Entrepreneur Promotion Award: Jeff Ryzner, president of North Forge Technology Exchange

Startup Canada Entrepreneur Support Award: Women’s Enterprise Centre of Manitoba

Startup Canada Global Entrepreneurship Award: Poppy Barley

Startup Canada Innovation Award: Hendrix.AI

Startup Canada Social Enterprise Award: Commongood Linens

Startup Canada High Growth Award: Fiasco Gelato

Startup Canada Woman Entrepreneur Award: Katherine Reigner, founder of Coconut Software Corporation

Startup Canada Young Entrepreneur Award: Émilie McKinney, founder of Anishinaabe Bimishimo Corporation

Startup Canada Entrepreneur of the Year Award: Sam Pillar and Forrest Zeisler, co-founders of Jobber parent ITWC is a media sponsor of the Startup Canada Awards.

Would you recommend this article?


Thanks for taking the time to let us know what you think of this article!
We'd love to hear your opinion about this or any other story you read in our publication.

Jim Love, Chief Content Officer, IT World Canada

Featured Download

Latest Blogs

ITB in your inbox

Our experienced team of journalists and bloggers bring you engaging in-depth interviews, videos and content targeted to IT professionals and line-of-business executives.